Rod
    Firehouse.com Guest

Post Wildland Firefighting SOP's

I'm a firefighter on a central Illinois Fire Department. Over the last five years we have seen a marked increase in the number of grass fire and W/UI fires. As a result we have also seen a marked increase in the number of Firefighter injuries, especially heat related. I am looking for fire department's from "non-traditional" wildland fire areas that may have SOP's on wildland fires including specifics on PPE's

Brat
    Firehouse.com Guest

Wink

Rod, I'm not from the non-tradional wildfire area and we don't have a SOP for wildland PPE's that I can send you. Our VFD require us to wear nomex coveralls or shirt and pants, both are provided to most of our dept. Each fire fighter has the choice of which to wear. They also have a wildland helmet with face and neck protector, goggles and wildland gloves. They are required to wear leather boots but must furnish their own. Everyone must have access to a fire shelter. Shelters are carried in all our trucks and anyone that want can also carry one one their belt. I am working on the dept helping with the cost of boots. We got most of our gear from GSA through our state forestry division. I hope this helps. Stay safe. If possible get some wildland training. Just because it's only a grass fire doesn't mean that it can't hurt you or worse.

Brat
    Firehouse.com Guest

Wink