Thread: Red Card

Rod
    Firehouse.com Guest

Post Red Card

OK I know that I am new to this part of firefighting, but I will ask the stupid question: What are the Red Card qualifications and how do I do it? I've been looking everywhere for information and just cannot find it.

------------------

mark440
    Firehouse.com Guest

Cool

The "Red Card" qualifications are S-130 & S-190 Standards for Survival. Try looking on the National Interagency Fire Center site, sorry I don't know what the site address is. NIFC is located in Boise Idaho. They coordinate Wildland for the Nation. E-mail someone there if you have questions. S-130/190 is about 60 hour course. SfS is a 8 hour course. All very benificail. Lots of opprotunities for Red Carded personell this summer. Also try contacting your local USFS or State Forest Service or BLM, BIA or any of the like.

Stay safe,

Mark

------------------
    If in doubt - Call us out

Captain Hickman
    Firehouse.com Guest

Your state is located in the Eastern Region of the National Interagency Coordination Centers Areas. For a list of some of the scheduled classes in your region you can check out: http://www.na.fs.fed.us/firetraining...se_summary.htm

For others interested in locating training in their areas you can check on: http://www.fire.nps.gov/mats/matsframe.asp
    or http://www.fire.nps.gov/firetraining/