hagerff/emti
    Firehouse.com Guest

Post Rookie looking for.......

Hey guys I am a college student that was hired for a seasonal job at a local refuge. I have posted a topic a while ago and got slow responce. I am attempting this again. What good advise could you give me for my first wildland fire season? I have already started walking/training for the pack test.
    What do most of you do besides this? Like during the off season what other jobs do you do??
    Thanks for the help.

Jmorgan
    Firehouse.com Guest

Im in college like you pursuing a degree in firescience. I'm also a volunteer FF.

RxFire
    Firehouse.com Guest

The best advice I can tell you is to pay attention to things around you on the fire. Know where your escape routes and safety zones are, pay attention to the weather - as weather is the largest factor in fire behavior. Learn from mistakes you make or see being made. This is especially true if you want to make a career out of this type of work.
    It can be a fun line of work - hard at times, both in activity and waiting for something to happen. If you stick with the USFWS, you stand a good chance of getting some good training, since they are an under-represented agency.
    Good Luck and be safe.

------------------
    I HATE spot fires!!
    http://fire.nifc.nps.gov/fum/

tlfd600
    Firehouse.com Guest

Well I live in Texas and with the dry summer we had in 00 we ran 3 large wildland fires a week. Staying in shape is a good idea. Also, don't try to be super man, when you get too hot and tired take a break and drink plenty of water at the fire. Also, our SOP is if we are fighting it from the brush truck we stay on the already burned portion as much as possible to increass safety. Like said before be aware of your suroundings, know escape routes and weather, also know where your nearest water source is and be familiar with oother area departments and if you can get mutual aid.

WVFD EMT
    Firehouse.com Guest