MembersZone Subscriber

Question How can I start??

I am a volenteer firefighter in New York. this usmmer im looking to do some wildland firefighting out west. I'm just wondering if im too young (I'm 16) to do it. If anyone has any info on this matter, please let me know.

Forum Member

I would think that 16 might be a little young, however, Oregon had different ideas. It would be nice to be 18 again.

http://www.odf.state.or.us/jobs/Seasjb.htm

Check age requirements....

Hickman
    "If it ain't broke, don't fix it...but, maybe we had better take a closer look at it."

Forum Member

well its always good to start young.
    But to be on a wildland fire with the forest service,blm,bia,or cdf you have to be at least 18 years of age. Its the standards to get your red card. But what you can do is take some wildfire classes and learn as much as you can about wildfire until then.

One route you can take is to work with a contract firefighting crew, it gets your feet wet to see if you really like it. They dont get the best jobs its mostly moping up but you can still learn lots. And if you like it work for the forest service on a hotshot crew or on a engine crew.

Remember as you do get into wildfire always get the best boots you can, I can say get Whites boots the smoke jumpers are what I have used for a number of years.

Good luck

I am woundering how i can get started in the wildfire program im a 27 year old looking to get started in this i have no fire exp. i need to know what kind of exp or training i need im wanting to get started a.s.a.p...

California Department of Forestry is always looking for seasonal firefighters. Rumor has it that 2002 fire season they are increasing staff.
    Info can be found on:

cdf.ca.gov

Good luck!