Administrator

Default Houston, Texas Line of Duty Death - Oct 13, 2001

http://www.firehouse.com/lodd/2001/tx_Poct13.html

HOUSTON -- A five-alarm blaze broke out in a high-rise apartment complex in Houston on Saturday, killing a firefighter, a man and injuring several others.

Capt. Jay Jahnke, 40, was a 20-year veteran of the Houston Fire Department.

He leaves behind a wife and two children.

Jahnke comes from a long line of firefighters. His father, uncle and brother are all firefighters.

He was promoted to captain in 1997 and also served as a safety officer for the Cypress Creek Volunteer Fire Department.

Rabble rouser

I am truly saddened by this tragic news.

I worked under Jay when I was a rookie, and he had just been promoted to Captain. To this day, I have not met a nicer, more eager teacher and more dedicated fireman and officer than he.

Let his death not be in vain.

Kobersteen

[ 10-13-2001: Message edited by: Kobersteen ]

The officers and members of the ST. Joseph Fire Department L1670 IAFF, St. Joseph, Michigan would like to extend our condolences to the family of Capt. Jay P. Jahnke and also to the Houston Fire Department after Capt. Jahnkes tragic untimely death this morning.

be safe out there!