Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    parkerfp1
    Firehouse.com Guest

Post Need Information Urgent!

I am a college student at the University of Pittsburgh and I have an assignment for my Newspaper class where I have to write an article based on an interesting profession. I have chosen 911 dispatcher as my topic. If you could please answer the following questions:

Name
    # yrs dispatcher
    Why did you get involved in dispatching?
    What would you tell someone considering being a dispatcher?
    What is the hardest part about your job?
    What is the most memorable call you have taken?
    Are you involved in any other emergency services?

If you could answer these questions and provide any information that you feel may be pertinent I would appreciate it.

Thank you very much,
    Jonathan Anschutz
    Fire Police Capt.
    Parker City VFD

dch419
    Firehouse.com Guest

Age - 24
    # yrs dispatcher - 2

-I was a firefighter looking for a part-time job to support my income. Emergency Dispatching was something that had intrigued me for years. When I saw an opening posted for a large suburb of Cleveland, OH, I applied for it, and was hired from 25 other candidates.

-Be prepared for periods of total mayhem, or total boredom. A background in in the fire service or law enforcement really helps too.

What is the hardest part about your job?
    -The hardest part is dealing with ignorant people on the phones that want things done their way, right away; not understanding or caring that there is a reason things are done the way they are (usaually because its the law).

-Being a paramedic, I am expected to help assist callers over the phone in emergency care until responders arrive, and on Christmas Day, 1998, I had 2 full arrests with my 8 hour shift. I gave CPR instructions to both. One survived, and unfortunately the other did not.

-I am a Senior Firefighter/Paramedic in a suburb of Cleveland.