Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    smokeeater51
    Firehouse.com Guest

Question Male dispatchers

This could go both ways, but because females are more often than not in the dispatchers chair, I'm gearing it toward the male audience. I am a male dispatcher for a police department which also dispatches for fire and EMS. I am the ONLY male in the dispatch center, and am always being slighted when the cops go for coffee or dinner, whereas it seems the other way around when the ladies are in the seat. The boys will go out of their way to see that they are not forgotten.
    I was just curious if anyone else has experienced the same thing? And if so, has anything been done about it? I am also a volunteer firefighter and always catching crap for that, but I expect that from them, the whole cop vs. firefighter thing. So if you've got any good come backs directed to the ol' boys in blue, pass em' on.

Thanks, Lt.

pcole
    Firehouse.com Guest

Cool

Lt.

The girls get the treatment from the cops cause their better looking! Something you'll have to live with.
    The center I work in is about split with men and women and we all get along fine.
    I just retired as a Platoon Chief and 36 years in the fire service and am working part time in the 911 center.
    I now have a new respect for the the people that do it. The average cop and firefighter doesn't have a clue.

Best wishes and pack a lunch......Pete

Nick SBFD 6
    Firehouse.com Guest

Thank god for Pizza Delivery!!!

DRA-252
    Firehouse.com Guest

Wink

Tell'em the donut shop is on fire, they'll change their tune!

mark440
    Firehouse.com Guest

Cool