markww
    Firehouse.com Guest

Default Helping Cities During Disasters

Hello to all emergency folks here on the Firehouse Magazine. I am a disabled Veteran and retired fire captain. Since I can not do firefighting any more from a severe fire related Injury, I have a amateur radio license and belong to the State Of Texas Races Network which is (radio amatuer civil emergency services). What this means is that we have emergency ham radios, generators lights, equipment, cooking materials and other emergency items and can respond to areas hit by floods,disasters and major emergencies. Since the large floods in Texas and other cities and communities within the state just awhile back. A few of us respond to the disaster site and setup emergency communications due to many phones,cell phones, and county wide radio blackouts. Some communities have emergency EOC's and some dont due to limited manpower, and we use these radios to get federal help, food emergency supplies, doctors, and other agencies to the devistated areas. If a large area is hit that covers many cities we establish radio contact to other emergecy radio operators and stay on the radio passing emergecy messages from the state police, local and county departments to initilize and get the help needed.This could include food, cooking services,military, police, fire,ems,and other emergency organizations, to respond and aid. We also set up communications in the shelters in case messages as for help and or request come from the people inside and route them to the correct agency in the local area.In a disaster, many towns and cities could loose communications due to massive power outages flooding, fires, earthquakes, and other threats which could cut off cities from outside help. I know for a fact when I was in a huge Texas flood situation 2 months ago many towns and cities lost all communications, power, food, electrical and other services and about a half dozen hams responded to the disaster, helped these towns and