Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread
    HarryRCarterPhD
    Firehouse.com Guest

Default Leadership Profiles

I am beginning a research project on people-oriented leadership techniques; to include coaching, mentoring, motivating, or just plain extending a helping hand. Will exchange views with all.

Chris Walker
    Firehouse.com Guest

I read your message and I am willing to share information, however, I'm not sure exactly what you are looking for. I am a fire/water rescue instructor that tries to motivate people on an almost daily basis. I also mentor for children at a local middleschool on my days off. Not sure how much I can help you on leadership, but feel free to e-mail(LADDRMAN1) me.

Scott Clark
    Firehouse.com Guest

Chief, you picked a subject close to my heart! My officer development training programs for firefighter's starts in their probie class. I look at each student as a potential officer of the future. Plus you never know when and if their ever going to be thrown into a position of leadership. So why not prepare them young. I also feel I want to bring the firefighter up to my level so someday they will take what I've taught them and make it even better for future firefighting generations. I first teach them the basics, then I encourage them to enhance their skill level. I then try to program them to become thinkers as well do'ers. When I was a chief I would take under-officers and have them manage the scenes and participate in problem solving at the station. Also I always asked their opinion on matters, they really liked that. This would build their confidents and boosted their morale. I'm a firm believer that a department with strong Captain's and Lieutenant's will be a strong and successful department. When their weak, the department is weak. I have seen this to much so that's what got me to pay so much attention to officer development training. And yes sir, I'll be in Baltimore this Summer.

LT trk106