Callihan
    Firehouse.com Guest

Default Pennsylvania Volunteer Chief

Hello all. As most of you already know, 2 crisis situations are hitting the volunteer fire service in PA. The first is a decrease in the number of dedicated people willing to volunteer and second is a lack of funding and difficulty raising money. Lets use this as a forum to share any information we can, to benefit PA volunteer departments.

------------------

Brian
    Firehouse.com Guest

Dear Mr. Callihan
    That's a great thought, Hopefully you will expand beyond just Pa.. We are a company about 1 1/2hrs. south of you in Maryland and we can see the trend you are speaking of in our county and all the surrouinding counties in Md. Pa. and WV.. Apparently this is a topic that the fire service leaders should address nationally.
    Best regards
    Brian
    LaVale VFD

Jason the nozzleman
    Firehouse.com Guest

Dear Mr. Callihan,
    Hello my name is Jason Sigafoos, and I am a volunteer firefighter in eastern Pennsylvania and I am 18 years old. I read your topic story and can fully agree on your point of view, as the same problems also occur here with our company and surrounding companies with both problems that you stated. However I don't understand why this occurs. I have been a volunteer for almost three years now and I love it,but the lack of volunteers is substansially low and even for some of the ones that do volunteer,they would just rather respond to calls and cut short on the fund raising end,being lazy when it comes time to work for the money. I think that this is a serious problem in the fire service today and hope that maybe your topic will enlighten some of those who we are speaking of, and also maybe bring some new volunteers into the service.

Sincerley,
    Jason Sigafoos
    Riegelsville VFD

Pat Nadeau
    Firehouse.com Guest

Dear Mr. Callihan,