Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread
    JAY FROM OHIO
    Firehouse.com Guest

Default oh no. ladders.

I am currently a volunteer firefighter who will be starting 240-hour fire school. I've always hade difficulty with ladders. I am a chicken when it comes to heights. Rumor has it that you have timed climb on an ariel ladder. Does anyone have any suggestions to help me prepare for this? (Okay, so maybe I am a wimp.)

nsfirechap
    Firehouse.com Guest

Jay,

Don't feel alone. When I joined Air force fire Protection school in 1977 I had a horrible fear of heights. The way I got over it was by CLIMBING LADDERS, being taught the safe way by experts. What helped me most were the confidnece builders-tying off with a ladder balt and leaning over backwards, being held in place by the belt, and also locking into the rungs with my kness and leaning over backwards. Never did think I'd get over my fears but I did. Twenty two years ladder climbing ladders is not my favorite thing to do, but I am able to do it.

Jeff Turkel
    North Star Fire Department
    North Pole, Alaska

Andy Henne
    Firehouse.com Guest

Hi Jay,
    I am currently a Captain with the Malmstrom AFB Fire Dept. in Montana. I agree wholeheartedly with Jeff Turkel. JUST DO IT!!!!!!! I too, have never been overly excited about heights, but Air Force Fire Protection has taught me how to climb ladders with confidence. In Germany I was privileged to work on the Air Force's first aerial to be placed in Europe. It was a 102ft KME AerialCat. Imagine being 102 ft up in a bucket!! We used to climb it as well. Quite an experience.

I've also rapelled a lot which is a whole other experience with heights you'll want to try later in your career.

Go for it, Jay. Just play it safe and learn all you can. And perhaps most important- keep this job fun. There's none other like it...

Andy

iwood51
    Firehouse.com Guest