Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    turbotim66
    Firehouse.com Guest

Default Hello from Antarctica Fire dept

I am currently a engineer for Antarctic fire dept, Mcmurdo station antarctica. I have a one year contract here. I will be leaving in Oct 99. you can check my home page for some pics of down here. bye for now. www.geocities.com/southbeach/bay/2232

[This message has been edited by turbotim66 (edited August 20, 1999).]

nsfirechap
    Firehouse.com Guest

Greetings from the other end-North Pole, Alaska. I'm a retired Air Force Firefighter now with the North Star Volunteer Fire Department in North Pole. Always been interested in Antartica-The closest I ever got was Thule Greenland!! Have a great day.

Jeff

pjackson
    Firehouse.com Guest

Hello Antaratica
    My name is Paul Iam from Ont Canada,I thought it was cold here this winter.Fighting fires in that climate must be a real challenge.
    Take Care
    Play Safe
    Sunny South

------------------

hylo
    Firehouse.com Guest

Hi Antarctica
    My name is Mark from Dublin Firebrigade in Ireland,Welcome aboard.How do you manage in that kind of weather, and what do you intend doing at the end of your contract?
    Best of luck and stay safe.
    Mark.

Tom Lafleur
    Firehouse.com Guest

Greetings from Massachusetts:
    Welcome to the forum.That must be a very interesting place to work.How do you keep your equipment from freezing up? Any sugestions could help us in the more temperate climates. Saw an add for the job in this months Firehouse.The wife won't let me apply!! Loved your web page,great pics.
    Stay safe
    Tom

turbotim66
    Firehouse.com Guest

hi again all. just a few short notes on your replys. I am planning on traveling when my contract is done. So far I am going to Australia, New Zealand, Figi, and Tahiti. Might add to the list before I leave here. Then I will be back here next winter.