Lt.3506
    Firehouse.com Guest

Default Hello from IllInois...

Hello, I am a Eight year vet. Of the Fire-Rescue dept in my area, I have just be elect. Lt. in my Dept. I am loking forward to pass on the knowage that I have learned in my past. I enjoy severing the town I live in, as a Fire Rescue member. And I look forword to learning new things as a Lt.

If any other Officers out there could drop me a note on how to go about things in genearal please write back. Thank You

Capt. Skippy
    Firehouse.com Guest

LT.3506,

Congradulations. I guess I have one small gem of wisdom to impart. Always remember that you do not, will not or can not ever know all that there is to know about the job we do. That is why we have experts that know a lot about one subject (i.e., extrication - Ron Moore). You have to be willing to say, "I don't know the answer to that FF Jones, but I'll find out and get back to you." and then do so, promptly. It is amazing how much respect that can gain you in a short period of time.

If you ever have any specific questions to situations or just general questions, please e-mail me and I'll be happy to help if I can. Ofcourse, if I can't, I'll find out and get back to you!

Stay safe!

Ledbelly
    Firehouse.com Guest

Hey Lt...
    Welcome to the machine. I made Capt. in Dec 96 so am still a rookie too, I guess. (we don't have lts.) The April 99 issue of Fire Engineering has a good article titled "The Pre-alarm Duties of the Engine Co Officer" Although it doesn't sound like it, the article is slanted toward being a new officer at a (new) station...I thought it was pretty informative and had some ideas I liked. Check it out if you can find one.
    I think you'll find a lot of interesting ideas in here (the forum) also...I know I have. I've seen many good ideas from smaller and larger departments than mine that have piqued my interest...keep an open mind and see how some of this stuff could be adapted to fit your department.