smoke_eater411
    Firehouse.com Guest

Default young fire fighter needs advice

hello i am a 17 male firefighter located in a small maine town.
    i jioned the firedepartment for it has always been my dream, it also allowed me to fallow in my farthers foot steps as well as my greatgrandfathers. this has ment a greatdeal to my whole family and myself even more. but what i need is for some vetren firefighters to just give me some good advice to fallow. if u can help me please do

mfgentili
    Firehouse.com Guest

Hi Daniel,
    Welcome to the fire service. The best advice I can think to give you is to always use common sense. Learn as much as you can about the equipment you will be working with. If you have a question about how something works, ask someone who knows. Get a copy of the IFSTA Essentials of Firefighting and read it. This manual is by far the best source of information on basic firefighting out there. Subscribe to trade magazines such as Firehouse, Fire Engineering, Fire Rescue etc. They are full of valuable information. Use the best personal protective equipment you can at EVERY fire. Were your SCBA at EVERY fire. Participate in drills willingly and with enthusiasm. Try to come away from every training exersise having learned something. Critique every fire call you go on and see what you did right and would do again or what you feel you did wrong and would change next time. Keep a journal of the calls you respond to. They make great material for drills and discussion in the future. Above all, don't ever think you know all there is to know about firefighting. We learn every day. You seem to have a great attitude and I respect the fact that you seek advice from "Old Timers". If you ever need any help or advice please feel free to e-mail me. Best of luck in your new endeavor and let us know how you are making out.

------------------
    mfg

[This message has been edited by mfgentili (edited June 05, 1999).]

Ed Shanks
    Firehouse.com Guest