JAY FROM OHIO
    Firehouse.com Guest

Default Firefighters married to firefighters

I am a part-time firefighter married to a 24-48 firefighter. I am looking for others who share this life (marriage not a prerequiste). I'd like to hear how you deal with the stress this can add to a relationship. Take care.

Jay

SBrooks
    Firehouse.com Guest

Not quite the same...I am a consulting engineer in the 'real' world (trying real hard to get hired)...and I live in a firestation. Part of my requirements for living at the station (and paying no rent) include being in the station from 2300-0700 at least 5 days a week, and at least every third weekend. Also, b/c I can drive everything, I often have to be at the station to get the apparatus out (i.e. there are no other truck drivers) What this means....

Well my girlfriend(s, it's an ongoing problem) have always been ok with this for the first few months, but then it's..."We never get to see each other, you put the FD first, why do YOU have to be there, can't someone else do it?" Needless to say, I don't think I've dated anyone for more than six months in quite a while.

BURNSEMS
    Firehouse.com Guest