firefighter_ixoye
    Firehouse.com Guest

Lightbulb new fireman needs advice

Hello i am a new firefighter in the state of maine
    I am now 17 but will be 18 in a a couple of weeks
    to tell the truth i am afraid of dieing every call i go on though i puch it aside to get my job done write is that normal, i find my self looking at my dad alot when we go to a fire togather though its only a quick glace every now and then is it wrong
    i also am worried about my peers when on the job site i dont want tpo sound like a worry wort but i have some fears,

i would also like tro ask some addvice from older firefighters as to what i can g\do for the best

friday
    Firehouse.com Guest

Welcome to the ranks! Firefighting is a proud profession with an illustrious history. As to your fears, they are normal. There is no place on the fire ground for anyone who has no fear. Fear helps protect you if you master it instead of letting it master you. The best way to master your fear is to increase your knowledge. Be diligent in attending training. Listen to those who have been there before, not blindly, but with common sense. Stick to the tasks that you are qualified to do and learn the job above you. Volunteer to do the unpopular parts of your job- like rolling hose, washing trucks. Help inspect and maintain your equipment and learn how to operate it. Use your safety equipment- every time! If you don't have all that you need- find a way to get it. Use your youthful enthusiasm and figure out new ways to do things at the drillfield, but be willing to learn other ways as well. Above all, always be a part of the solution to problems, don't contribute to them. Capt. Dan

BURNSEMS
    Firehouse.com Guest

Talking