Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread
    MFFD3904
    Firehouse.com Guest

Lightbulb Protecting Volunteer Firefighters

I am a Volunteer Firefighter in upstate New York. On Monday the 29 of November at 1:00pm my Dept. was called to a working fire at a residence. so i went knowing that i had to be at work in an hour. I was on the first team in and we put the fire out. one of my family members called my work and let them know about my situation. The supervisor on said that it was alright and he understood my situation, and for me to come in on tuesday. so when i went to work on tuesday my supervisor fired me. he said that the fire co does not pay me this co does. and fighting fire is not an excuse for missing work. i feel that i should not have been fired. i lost my job but i feel great about what i did.

Joel Chouinard
    Middle Falls Fire Dept.

Kelly Tool
    Firehouse.com Guest

Hey man great for you! I mean that it is a shame you lost your job because your supervisor is, sorry to say,an idiot. Any one that helps the community is an asset. I would have done the same thing in your shoes. Put it this way, if I hired people for my company or business I'd rather have firefighters because if there was an emergency at work I'd rather have people that deal with this stuff and know what to do! Good luck, hope you find another job soon.

------------------
    Put the wet stuff on the red stuff!

colfireman
    Firehouse.com Guest

Talking

hey thee i feel for you at losing your job.is their any recourse you have legaly?
    does the state of N.Y have any laws protecting us vollies.might be something to check into.I will say that this sort of issue would be best brought up with your employer before a call.

Bob Snyder
    Firehouse.com Guest

Unhappy