Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread

Thread: Waterous pumps

lunchbox
    Firehouse.com Guest

Post Waterous pumps

I am a new driver/pump operator and have been told 2 separate things in regards to setting the relief valve.1) set it as soon as you pull up to the sean and put truck into pump. 2) only set it f you have more than 1 line operating.

------------------

morning and have a good day

Aff
    Firehouse.com Guest

I am by far not an expert, but I can tell you how I was taught. All of are trucks have waterous pumps, 3-2 stage, 1-single stage. We set our relief to the first line, than adjust to the line requiring the most pressure (ie longer lay, upper floors, ect.). This protects the pump and equipment from a waterhammer. But more import, say for example you have a line pulled and operating at 150# on the pump and they pull a second line. You go to turn on the relief valve and its set at 75# by mistake (we try to keep ours preset to 150). Now the crew with the first line is fairly concerned about their water pressure!
    Just my .02! If I am mistaken, pls let me know!

Stay safe...
    Mark

Probie
    Firehouse.com Guest

Thumbs up

I agree... We were taught and practice setting the relief valve to the first line. We use a range of 130 to 150 and preset it during the morning check out. You can always adjust as the sit. changes. the pressure might also change depending on the type of tip on the end of the line. straight tip vs. fog.

Dean C. Olsen
    Firehouse.com Guest

Wink

Greetings from Washington State:

As for setting and using the pressure relief valve on a Waterous pump I always preset my relief at 120 psi, and any time that there was a line pulled the valve was turned on and operating. The number one question for your apparatus is what type of relief valve are you using?