Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread

Thread: New Member

SFD161
    Firehouse.com Guest

Cool New Member

Hello all......My name is Scott W., and I am a volunteer FF/EMT in Savanna IL. (population 4000) I am working on my seventh year as a member of our service. I am a 33 year old engineering tech with a major company. BUT....everyday I wake up, wishing I was a professional firefighter in a larger city. I give 110% to my dept, but have a chief that only wants to do things his way(thats another story).
    Anyway, I look forward to everything this site has to offer.

Scott

pvfr fyrfyter
    Firehouse.com Guest

Lightbulb

Scott, as a 12+ year volunteer I know how difficult it is to institute change. just make sure that you continue to do your job right and eventually others will observe and follow. there is no quick & easy fix. only time and percevierence will help. always remember why you joined in the first place. as far a going pro? only you can decide if thats what you really want to do. keep an eye on the forums to see what others think about life in the pro world.
    sign me, volunteer and proud of it

craig7404
    Firehouse.com Guest

Hey Scott and welcome.
    Alot of us are in the same boat with chiefs who only want it their way. My chief is sometimes that way and me being a captain, we sometimes argue about his calls(usually in privite after the run, but sometimes when the call is made on scene). Keep trying to work through this as I have and do your job the best you can. Always remember why you are there and just be patient and everything will work out.

------------------
    Good Luck And Be Safe
    Captain
    Craig Lambert

[This message has been edited by craig7404 (edited January 07, 2000).]

Lt.Todd
    Firehouse.com Guest

Hey Scott , If your interested Atlanta Fire is hiring right now . Once you start battling the beast ,you can never really enjoy any other job. If I can be of any help let me know.

Lt.Todd Edwards