Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread

Thread: Hello all

RN Student
    Firehouse.com Guest

Cool Hello all

Hi
    I'm a nursing student in San Jose, CA. I'm wondering if I can elicit some help from any of you. I hope this is appropriate and I hope I'm in the right forum.
    I am currently enrolled in an intercultural communication course that requires a group presentation on a chosen culture. While a majority of our class has chosen to present information on ethnic groups such as Mexican Americans, Vietnamese Americans, etc., my group has decided to take a different (more fun!)approach and look into the culture of firefighting.
    What I am requesting is answers to some questions that our group has come up with to find out more about you! Our presentation is pretty specific and the questions reflect this.
    If anyone could spare a few minutes, please answer and email your answers to me at the email address in my profile, or just answer them here!
    Thank you very very much!
    Take care and be safe.

START
    1. Of what generation are you to this profession? (age is ok)

2. What attracted you to firefighting?

3. It's from my view as an outsider that firefighters are their own unique family. Would you describe the family structure within your firehouse? (all brothers? does one act as the father?, etc.)

4. Is there a social status within your firehouse? What is the hierarchy? (titles?)

5. How is work delegated within the firehouse? (who cooks, cleans, etc.)

6. What does everyone do in their free time at work? (work-out, read, watch tv, etc.) I, as an outsider see firefighters as being physically fit, what kind of lifestyle do you lead outside the firehouse?

7. Is there anything comparable to a religion within the firefighting profession? (are there special services or Chaplains unique to your group) What helps you cope with a loss?