Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread
    benford1
    Firehouse.com Guest

Talking New Training Ideas

Allow me to introduce myself. I am a full time EMS worker for the county EMS system and a part-time and volunteer firefighter. I am a Captain and the training officer for our department. I have been in the fire service for 6 years. I am also a Fire and Rescue instructor. I am constantly finding ways to challenge our members in training, whether it be in a rescue rigging class or doing a burn exercise.
    If anyone has any different training methods that help motivate people to show up to classes, please let me know. We have a problem with several members not coming to classes then wondering why they are place on probation for not having the proper amount of training. We have only about 10 "active" members who essentially do all the work, and the rest are just along for the recognition of being in the fire department when things go well.

I have some different ideas for training that I am willing to share. If you would like to trade "secrets" for training, let me know.

[This message has been edited by benford1 (edited August 24, 2000).]

[This message has been edited by benford1 (edited September 01, 2000).]

tvp
    Firehouse.com Guest

I, also am a Captain and training officer of our department. We have 25 members of which about 20 are active. I could use all the help I can get in putting together a training schedule.

Our department is volunteer/part paid (we are paid $8/hr for training) MY training budget is about $2000/year to cover the costs of bringing in instructors and covering the costs of incidentals used in training.

firebox1
    Firehouse.com Guest

maybe we can share some of our idea's b/c I have been having problems with training I have some idea's that have worked but some have not. if I come across any new idea's I will let you know and I hope you can do the same. thanks fcantu@journey.com

------------------

BPDenny