Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    smokeeater51
    Firehouse.com Guest

Question How long, where, and why?

I am always curious as to how and why people enter into the emergency services. I'm interested to hear how you got into it, how long you have been doing it, where you are, and why. As far as I am concerned, I am a third generation firefighter. I've been in the volunteer service since 1991, and am currently a lieutenant/EMT-B in the town of Rollinsford NH. I do it because of the extreme satisfaction I get when I know that I have helped someone, no matter how small the problem.

I look forward to the replies that I hope this generates.

Take care, stay safe, & stay low!

Lt. M. Spinney
    Rollinsford Fire & Rescue

FireRebel
    Firehouse.com Guest

Cool

I can write a book on why I have wanted to be a firefighter, love of the job, helping the community, blah, blah, blah....there is not one thing I can put my finger on saying this reason more than any other has lead me this way...following my Father's footsteps, maybe...who knows, I am a EMT-I, Volunteer firefighter for over 5 years, and currently trying like heck to get hired as a career firefighter here in the heartland of this great country....stay safe!

jalbritt
    Firehouse.com Guest

jalbritt is my E-Mail at work code. John H. Albritton is my full name. Started with the fire service in Sarasota County, Florida as a Forest Ranger in Fire Control with the state of Florida in 1966 after graduating from high school. I was assigned to a bulldozer fire plow unit. I worked there four years and hired on with a local fire department the South Trail Fire District Sarasota Fla, in 1970. Over the last 30 yrs the dept. has merged 5 times, since 1995 we have been the Sarasota County Fire Department, including the City of Sarasota. 460 total staff 20 fire stations 25 ALS rescues 20 fire engines, 2 ladders, Special Ops Unit( hazmat,hi-angle rescue,confined space rescue),