Thread: am I welcome

hsfd738
    Firehouse.com Guest

Question am I welcome

Not trying to sound too sceptical but as a ( Dare I say )Volunteer Firefighter,I run accross some sort of predjudice because I dont get paid for the blood,sweat and tears that I leave on the fireground.
    I have been a firefighter for appx. 1 1/2 years so I wont even act like I am some super hero or anything. Just a person who wants to make a difference and do my part in this world! I , Just like you , go to sleep reveling in the lives that I/We touch and all too often am awoken by the ones that I/We could not. Paid or Volunteer the pride I feel is the same. So would everyone that reads this letter please respond with a welcome or not and I will accept your wishes.

SRVFD2
    Firehouse.com Guest

Thumbs up

WELCOME!! I haven't been on here too long, but I think you'll find at LEAST as many volunteers on here as Career. Hope you get lots of WELCOMES!!!!!!

pvfr fyrfyter
    Firehouse.com Guest

Exclamation

Welcome to the forums. Try not to paint everyone participating with the broad brush of intolerance due to the factor of whether you get a paycheck for doing what we all seem to love. Just like any other family we will argue, fight, and even occasionally make-up. I have learned a great deal in my 10 months of participation and found that a paycheck doesn't determine where the best answers come from.

------------------
    The few, the proud, the insane- Volunteer Firefighters

jalbritt
    Firehouse.com Guest

Cool