Dave Duke
    Firehouse.com Guest

Post Firefighters children with disabilities.

I'm a firefighter with a child who has severe learning difficulties. I know there are many more firefighter parents, in a similar situation, out there. What support do you get from colleagues, department, county, state etc. Comments here or to:- daveduke10@hotmail.com

Stay safe

firefighteranne
    Firehouse.com Guest

I have a son who is mildly mentally handicapped. He was diagnosed at age 3 and he is now 13. I have some good friends at work and on my volunteer fire department who are very kind to my son (that's why they're good friends). We were fortunate to have him in a preschool special education class for 3 years--the early intervention made a lot of difference. We feel we're blessed with a very good and strong school in the field of special education. We went through the normal grieving process when we first found out about his handicap--our "normal" child was dead, however, we have come to realize that he is truly a gift from God. We has made us a very close and compassionate family, and has opened up a whole world to us that we never knew existed. One of the first things I learned was not to worry too much about the future--take one day at a time. You may e-mail me at firefighteranne@hotmail.com

FireRebel
    Firehouse.com Guest

God Bless you both, I am a father of a beautiful son who is healthy, ALL children are gifts from God and we need to treasure them everyday we are blessed with them...take care and Stay Safe..

Dave Duke
    Firehouse.com Guest

Thank you for your kind thoughts. It really is reassuring to know that there are decent people like yourself out there.

Take care and stay safe.

Dave.

Dave Duke
    Firehouse.com Guest

I dedicate this to my wife and all the mothers of our 'Special Children'.

Dave Duke.
    The Special Mother

by Erma Bombeck

Most women become mothers by accident, some by choice,

A few by social pressure and a couple by habit.