Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread
    Kline82
    Firehouse.com Guest

Question I want to be a firefighter

Hello
    I am new to this, but i have some questions that i was wondering if you'll help me out. What i am asking is what things do i need to do to become a firefighter. Do i take college, or do i go to an academy? Any information that you could give would be great and really appreciated. Thank you very much.

mark440
    Firehouse.com Guest

Cool

Kline82,
    Let me be one of the first to welcome you to the "Wonderful world of the Fire Service"! You can go about your education a number of differnt ways. If you have no affiliations with an FD currently, then I suggest you start with a College or University. Get your Fire Science degree or one of the likes. Paramedicne is a growing area. If you get a degree in Paramedicne then you can basically write your future. Get the degree and then go through an academy if you still have no job. The "On the job" experiance is an education is its self. That is just as valuble as the book education.

Stay safe,

Mark

------------------
    If in doubt - Call us out

Engine 101
    Firehouse.com Guest

Well howdy and welcome Kline82, I must totally agree with the comments Mark440, That is they way to do it go to college, Today alot of FD's think very highly of those firefighters who have some type of college degree, Also how old are you?, Contact your local FD, Ask them if they have some type of explorer of juniors or cadet program, Look into that, You gain valuable expirience that way also, But definitley plan on going to college

mike m
    Firehouse.com Guest

Cool