NFDMouse
    Firehouse.com Guest

Post Hey guys, new here

Hey all, I'm a volunteer firefighter in Newington CT and a full-time student at the University of New Haven. I am enrolled in their Fire Science/Arson Investigation program and will be graduating in 2003. I'm looking to pursue a career as a firefighter-EMT in a city such as Hartford, Boston, or New York. After my 20 years, I may get into fire investigation as a fire marshal for the CT State Police or in the private sector.

[This message has been edited by NFDMouse (edited 04-07-2001).]

james35
    Firehouse.com Guest

Thumbs up

Wow, sounds like you have your future planned. I would like to do fire investigation sometime, but I want to go into structural firefighting first. Anyway, welcome to the team, you can't help learning something from someone. Have a great time.

------------------
    ...James
    james35@firehousemail.com
    Training Officer
    Olney - Walluski Fire District # 35 (Oregon)

paddymeboy
    Firehouse.com Guest

NFD Mouse,
    Sounds like a good plan. They've got a great program at UNH. I'm on the job in Waterbury. Our former fire chief runs the show down there. Good Luck

bke
    Firehouse.com Guest

Hi Mouse,

I am currently a student at the community college in my hometown. It is one of the best community colleges in the state of New Mexico and the U.S.A. but it does not have any Arson Investigation studies. I am finishing my last semester at the community college and transfer to the University of New Mexico in the fall of 2001.
    I am also going into the field of arson investigation, hopefully with the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms (ATF). It is really neat to find that another person knows about the job. I am hoping to do some firefighting after graduation for the experiences. I've always been interested in firefighting and fire sciences. I grew up around it.