Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    SFDAJL
    Firehouse.com Guest

Question Responding to calls without blue lights

I was just wondering if when your responding to a call in your car, and you don't have a light bar or whatever, do you use the car's hazards lights? I've seen some other people doing it, probably will myself, just wondering if anyone else does. Thanks.

------------------
    Andrew "Bushman" Landstrom
    Cadet
    Station 71
    Spotswood Vol. Fire Department
    Spotswood, New Jersey

You light 'em, We fight 'em

Brian Dunlap
    Firehouse.com Guest

I have been a Firefighter for 10 Years Now and have responded in my car both with and with out a Blue-Light....Yes I do use the Hazzards but keep in mind they probably won't help Pretty Much the Same as A Blue-Light. Now as a Junior Firefighter I recommend you don't bother with a light right now or hazzards or anything like that. Your response to the incident although Important is Not that Crucial. Get there when you get there.

Stay Safe

NMFD33
    Firehouse.com Guest

At least with a blue light someone will realize your a emergency responder. someone pulls up behind you, flashing their high beams and flashing the 4 ways. do you know what the hell they want? no, its going to cause an accident. its happened with a car i was a passenger in, people have a hard enough time pulling over for blue lights, dont bother, cause yourll be that next extrication.

------------------
    Chris Kerrigan
    ILiveInACage@aol.com
    Fire Fighter/EMT-D
    HazMat Medical Officer
    New Milford Vol. Fire Dept Company #2
    New Milford,NJ

firecadetak
    Firehouse.com Guest

As cadets, we are prohibited from responding with any type of light, hazards, horn honking, etc.

SCAFDEXP
    Firehouse.com Guest