Default Being called a cop?

Do any of you deal with being called a cop by your friends. I have being dealing with the ignorant kids in my neighborhood calling me the cops. I try to ignore it, but in the inside I'm very mad, and ready to beat the hell out of them. Can anybody give me some advice? Thanks!
    FALLEN BROTHERS: REST IN PEACE

Forum Member

I've been called that before but I had a reason, I am an Law Enforcement Explorer as well as a Jr. Firefighter. Doesn't bother me. What I don't get is why they call you a cop when you are a Fire fighter. One day it will come back to them. They may need your help and they will regret what they say to you.

Forum Member

Since you are asking for advise..

Do NOT "beat the hell out of them." That would be bad... sticks and stones are one thing, but words are another. I am a cop, so I deal with this almost on a daily basis. You just have to learn to ignore them and keep in mind that you ARE the good guy here, and they are just showing their ignorance or jealousy.
    Richard Nester
    Orrville (OH) Fire Dept.

"People don't care what you know... until they know that you care." - Scott Bolleter

Never happened to me, although just yesterday I was down at the bus station listening to a bunch of paranoid hippies cop-bashing ('Cops beat up pregnant women' type stuff) and just about fell off my bench laughing when they mistook CDF guys with dark blue uniforms and a white pickup for cops. At one point one of them asked me How I can stand to sit there with that surveillance camera right there--my answer--I'm not doing anything illegal, I don't give a care.

Althea
    Althea Forhan
    FDNY 343:"Forever your power and strength stays with me"

When they say something dumb like that, you should feel good knowing that you are obviously more intelligent than them. 'course, they combined probably have the brain power of a tree stump.