jedge168
    Firehouse.com Guest

Unhappy problems with a volunteer chief... HELP!!

I'm at my wits end. I'm a volunteer firefighter for a small department. The chief of this department for the last 5 years or so has been mismanaging the department to the point we have no equipment (not even a haligan tool) and he refuses to buy anything, saying that we don't need it. Recently I've learned that we've been misled regarding our budget, it's more than double what he says. He's endangering the lives of the firefighters by canceling mutual aid stations to working housefires leaving only 2-3 of us to handle the fire, salvage and overhaul. I'm at my wits end and would like some advice on what to do with this.. this... well, I'm not real sure what to call him. Thanks folks, it's greatly appreciated.

Phillip Gates
    Firehouse.com Guest

Unhappy

Hold a vote of the membership and remove this fire cheif imposter. Place some one in the position that will get things done for the department and members.

Bob Snyder
    Firehouse.com Guest

Thumbs down

Yea, vote him out. If you can't get a majority to vote him out, then join another company. From what you're saying, you don't belong there under those circumstances.

Chief Sanborn CFR
    Firehouse.com Guest

Red face