Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Help!!

parkerfp1
    Firehouse.com Guest

Question Help!!

Hey anyone out there who can help me I will greatly appreciate it. I am a sophomore in college and I am really interested in the field of Fire Investigation. As a volunteer firefighter I have taken all the arson training classes that I could and I want to move on in the field. The Nat'l Fire Academy says I have to be employed as a fire investigator to be enrolled there, but without training how do I? I am in PA and would like to stay here to do my education, but I would be willing to move out of state. Any suggestions? How do I become a certified fire investigator??

Fire207
    Firehouse.com Guest

Cool

You should join the IAAI or another organization like that. There are a few that offer certification courses.
    R Bruce Shanabarger
    Investigator
    Allen County Fire & Arson Specialized Team
    Churubusco,IN.

------------------
    Bruce Shanabarger Churubusco,In. ICQ# 25729114

FF McDonald
    Firehouse.com Guest

Thumbs up

parkerfp 1--

Hope this info helps.

University of New Haven; New Haven, Connecticut has a program geared toward Fire Investigation. It is a Fire Administration degree, with a minor in Arson Investigation. As far as I know, they are one, if not the only school that offers a program like this. University of Maryland, College Park; and Oklahoma State University (where I go ) are geared more toward Fire Protection Engineering / Fire Protection & Safety Technology, respectively. UNH is nice because they make you take classes that you will need if/when you get involved in Arson investigation. Criminal justice classes, criminal psychology, etc... I was considering going there, until I found out about OSU. It also came down to money matters as well.
    I will post the link to UNH tomorrow. I have a class to study for. I'm not sure, but I do believe that this is as close as you'll get to PA.