SJNorman
    Firehouse.com Guest

Question Do Extinguishers hide accelerants

My name is Samuel James Norman. I am currently studying my 3rd year of a Bachelor of Applied Science (Forensic Investigation) at the Canberra Institute of Technology. Our 3rd year program includes a major practical project to be undertaken over six months. I intend to research whether the use of fire extinguishers causes any detremental effects on the ability to detect accelerants at crime scenes, and whether the fire extinguishers contain any chemicals which may falsly indicate accelerant when there was none actually present. I am interested to know if your company has undertaken any research in this field. I am also seeking a list of chemicals (whether ingredients or impurities) which are typically found in the different types of extinguishers available on the Australian market. Any information which could be passed on would be greatly appreciated.

Kind regards
    Sam Norman

eyecue
    Firehouse.com Guest

Since most of the extinguishers intercept the free radical and bind it so that it will not oxidize, There is no chance that a dry chemical extinguisher will give that reading. The same is not true for some types of foam. The ingredients in foam can give a false positive on accelerant tests.

reyford
    Firehouse.com Guest

As always, it depends on how much flammable liquid accelerant was present before the extinguishing material was introduced and also how much extinguishing material was used. It has been my experience that a fire investigation canine can still always detect a flammable liquid under both dry powder and foam. They have the ability to discriminate similar odours whereas hydrocarbon detectors often do pick up other things that are present.
    Robert Eyford, CFEI,CCFI, canine handler

CJBFireConsultant
    Firehouse.com Guest