Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: HELP!

Romania
    Firehouse.com Guest

Post HELP!

Well it finally happened, I am now a driver. I have tried very hard to stay in the backseat for as long as I could (at least at my paid gig). I have some experience in every seat, but my engineering experiece is minimal. Since I have been senticed to this I might as well make the most of it so I am asking a favor.

To all of you experieced engineers (especially engine company) lets here some advice and tricks that you have learned. I am sure that I am not the only one out here that can benefit from it. Thanks in advanced

------------------
    Alan Romania, CEP
    romania@uswest.net
    IAFF Local 3449

My Opinions do not reflect the opnions of the IAFF or Local 3449.

[This message has been edited by Romania (edited January 25, 2000).]

mtnfireguy
    Firehouse.com Guest

Talking

The truck won't start if the trannie isn't in neutral

Never ever forget to set the brake

Don't forget to close the drains

Don't feel bad - We have all charged the hose bed at one time or another.

More as I think of em!!

Good Luck Alan

Terry McDonald
    Firehouse.com Guest

Know every appliance on your engine and what you can do with it. When the command calls for some weird layout, either attack or supply, you won't have to look at them with a dumbfounded expression. A little used piece of equipment on my engine that i have used at numerous fires is a 4.8"male to 5" stortz adaptor. If you have a hydrant 50' away, why go to the back of the rig and wrestle with 100' of 5" hose. use the adaptor to connect the 25' front suction to the 50' pony section of 5" and you have a much simpler, faster, and easier to load up lay. Just know what equipment you have and what you can do with it. Good luck.

tmr91
    Firehouse.com Guest