EnjineCaptain
    Firehouse.com Guest

This is not just theory. I have had some experience with the pilot valve spring developing a memory and having to take the truck out of service to have it repaired.
    Furthermore, turning off the PRV does not accomplish the same thing. The tension on the spring is created when you turn the valve handle. Turning off the PRV does not relieve this pressure.

------------------
    I'm glad to hear from any of you.
    EnjineCaptain

"This isn't what we do, it's who we are!"

Prevent Harm, Be Safe, Be Nice - A. Brunancini

FAE767
    Firehouse.com Guest

The relief valve is primarily a safety device. And, as an observer of firefighter behavior, if is not kept in a mode where safety is most likely to be the default effect (ON), it will not be used.

Why have it at all if it is not used? I have seen this to be the case with the PRV many, many times.

Any time more than one line is charged it should be on and set. If it is preset to the most commonly used discharge pressure, it will be there when needed, by default.

Your apparatus needs maintenance, and this item should be no different than any other wear item, like brakes. It will need periodic service, testing, springs, o-rings, screens, etc.

If safety is paramount, preset it, excersize it to keep it from seizing-up, and maintain it! If you don't, no one else will!

------------------
    Whaaatsuuuup?

snowball
    Firehouse.com Guest

Our dept. has an S.O.P. for our handlines set
    at 120 to 140 pounds. Every engineer on morning check-out checks the prv to make sure
    that pressure is correct, thus excersising
    the valve. Due to our budget we do most of our own maintenance and repairs and I personally have not seen a prv develop a memory although spring steel can. We haven't had a problem yet but I probably just jinxed
    myself. snowball out!!

fire127797
    Firehouse.com Guest