phyrngn
    Firehouse.com Guest

Question Rural Water Supply

Questions from a FF with only rudimentary knowledge of Rural Water Supply...

I work as a volunteer Firefighter with a department that covers 89 square miles. As with many rural departments, during the day we are plagued with manpower problems. I have read with fascination information from Fallon, NV (I'm very IMPRESSED!!!), Rattlesnake, CO, and the like.

My question is this. What is the most viable tactic for ensuring good delivery of water to your first-in pumper with a) limited manpower and b) limited training (I don't like to say that, but it's a reality). I liked the idea of having a pumper lay LDH down the driveway and have a "pumper tanker" pump to it through a siamese. My contention is the pumper tanker has enough GPM to supply the pumper, and then a siamese can hook in so the second arriving pumper can hook up, set up it's dump tank, and release the pumper tanker to go and refill, thus starting the tanker shuttle. Currently, however, our tankers (one of which is 3000 gallons) only pump about 300 GPM...I don't think that it could keep up with a 1250 gpm pumper. Some of the older fogeys on the dept say that 300 gpm is all you need (It'll supply two handlines, they say), but being in a rural area with a delayed response with full involvement on arrival just doesn't seem to make sense. Am I on the right track, or does someone have some better ideas? Like I said, I usually run the Knob, but I want to expand my horizons.

------------------

LHS*
    Firehouse.com Guest

//What is the most viable tactic for ensuring good delivery of water to your first-in pumper with a) limited manpower and b) limited training

I believe you should designyour fire truck after you have put together the operations manual for your department and for the apparatus.