Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    scania
    Firehouse.com Guest

Default What kind of help does the chaplains provide?

I would like to know of what a ff chaplin can do for victems of a fire and to the responding units.As I can understand from the memorial thoughts of lodd´s the chaplains do a lot of good work.In sweden the fire depratments usually call upon the church chaplins in case of a tradgic fire like that one we had in a disco last october.I would be great full for any response from any ff chaplains out there in cyber space.

------------------
    viking

Charles Vesely
    Firehouse.com Guest

Dear Scania,

I am a both a firefighter of some 10yrs standing (Rank: Deputy Captain)and a minister. My fire service (NSW Rural Fire Service, Australia)commenced stetting up chaplaincies about 5 years ago. At that time there was only a state chaplain, Major Don Woodland of The Salvation Army. As our service is divided into shires , I thought that it would be good to have a shire based chaplain of our own. So I made approach to our Command and our local Salvation Army officer to take this role on. It worked out well and has been in operation ever since.

I was too closely attached to operational fire fighting to take the role on myself, although I have from time to time worked in such a role as well.

The role of a chaplain is important. they need to be the listener to the members when job is getting to them. They need to offer comfort and support during times of crisis in a members' life. They also are a great resource person when say a family loose their home.

I am happy to discuss the role of a chaplain in greater detail just drop me a line directly to my email address.

Blessings,

Charles

cyvesely@bigfoot.com

lfs
    Firehouse.com Guest

Scania,