Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Drewbo
    Firehouse.com Guest

Exclamation HELP!!! College in trouble

HELP ME PLEASE!!!!

I am a college student at Bloomsburg University. I also run with the Bloomsburg Fire Dept. Yesterday (23 Feb) we ran into the same problem that has plauged the university for a while. They had an emergency and tried to keep it internal. A bomb threat was called in to the university police. They evacuated the building. I was leaving another class room building and saw this happening. I asked the officer what was going on, he told me he did not know. (SOP for the university cops). I knew something was really wrong when they blocked off a 100 yard perimeter around the building. I went to the fire station, listened to police radio, A bomb threat. They upgraded it, called in state police, but never called for fire or EMS. A buddy and I took an engine up (driver training) and surveyed the scene. We were told they did not need us.
    Am I wrong, is not this a major situation? Possible Mass Casualty situation? This is a continuing situation on this campus. We had a fire last semester in a dorm and the Fire Dept was never notified. If anyone could give me some advice on how to present this problem (I'm currently talking to my officers also) to the administeration I would gladly apriciate it. I am in a good position to present this topic for I am part of the Student Government body also.

Thank you, and be safe.

------------------
    * God Looked down and
    * saw this was bad, it
    * was bad, it was Drew

Dalmation90
    Firehouse.com Guest

Bomb threats aren't a Fire Department issue.

First off, almost all are false and sending Fire & EMS only adds to the caller getting their jolleys.

Second, if the bomb goes off, are you safer on the scene or in your quarters?