babymedic1
    Firehouse.com Guest

Lightbulb Thermal Imaging Cameras

Hi! Hy name is Jen, and I am a volunteer firefighter with Farmington Fire Dept, in Farmington, NY. We are looking for fundraising ideas for the purchase of 2 thermal imaging cameras. Anyone that has done this, please e-mail me and let me know what you did! Please e-mail me at: babymedic1@yahoo.com OR jennie_finch@urmc.rochester.edu.
    Thank you in advance!
    Jennie S. Finch, EMT-D

e33
    Firehouse.com Guest

Lightbulb

Contact your nearest rep for each brand. I am almost posotive that MSA has a special fundraising kit that they offer to places that need to gain funds for purchase. Ask your distributors what kind of assistance each manufacturer offers if any.

Also look towards your area businesses for donations. Corporations that can get a plug in the news for helping the community are abundant.

Diane
    Firehouse.com Guest

Talking

I don't know how large your dept is, but each company in mine (Port Jefferson, NY) holds a dinner or two a year:

Co.'s 1 and 5 hold Steak Nights
    2 holds an outdoor Beefeaters and then a Cluck and Claw
    3 holds an Octoberfest
    4 doesn't hold a dinner, they do a golf outing -- talk about work and money!!
    The Juniors hold a turkey raffle, car washes, and have sold fire-Christmas ornaments.

We charge $25 a head for the dinners (the meeting room area holds 180 by law -- we occasionally exceed that) and usually make a couple thousand. The outdoor dinners make more since they aren't limited as far as space.

Across Long Island I've seen plant and pumpkin sales, comedy nights, spaghetti dinners, car washes, 50-50's, flea markets and craft sales, mini-fire buff shows and carnivals (a lot of work there). Some even go as far as to hold seminars (have FDNY officers speak) and they serve breakfast or lunch.

Hope this helps!

------------------
    Stony Brook U.-NY (MA) Political Science (Class of '00, I hope)