Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    FireFLIRMgr
    Firehouse.com Guest

Question Regulating the manufacture & use of TIC's

I have a lot of experience with NFPA regulations covering SCBA and other safety equipment. Over the years, such regulations have been good in that they have forced improvements in equipment. However, the need for some changes is questionable; and NFPA requirements often put a bugetary strain on departments trying to comply.

Would you as fire fighters like to see NFPA requirements and certification of thermal imaging cameras? Do you think that this would help weed out bad equipment? Would you also like to see the use of TIC's mandated by NFPA?

Those on the forum, who represent manufacturers, let's here your opinions as well. Would you prefer to have standards that your cameras would have to meet? Would this reduce the amount of false claims and specsmanship that fire fighters have to weed through when selecting a camera?

Greg Hall
    Product Manager
    FireFLIR

FF McDonald
    Firehouse.com Guest

Just wanted to mention--

NFPA standards are consensus standards, and they are not law. Yes, as you mentioned- they do at times force improvements in equipment.

There is one thing that concerns me about NFPA standards -- if you take a look at Standards that are written for protective clothing, you will notice that there are a host of clothing manufacturers who are on the committie. Is this right?? Should we let the manufacturers of the clothing - write the standards that the clothing is to meet??

If a standard is developed on Thermal Imaging equipment, who will be writing it -- the manufacturers -- or the fire service?