The Snake Man
    Firehouse.com Guest

Question To put chalks down on flat surface or not to put chalks down on flat surface.

As a driver engineer I am always hesitant to trust my "air" parking break on our new American LeFrance fire engine. Is it normal to just trust the parking break on flat ground or should I chalk the tires everytime?

------------------
    Thanks,
    The Snake Man
    Be safe!

Wayno
    Firehouse.com Guest

Carry two chalks and place them on opposite sides!

EPFD-AL
    Firehouse.com Guest

The ONLY time the wheels of your apparatus should NOT be chocked is when you're driving it.

F02
    Firehouse.com Guest

Firetrucks have a funny way of moveing in pump gear sometimes.E brakes won't hold them if they are left in road gear by mistake.

Hammerhead338
    Firehouse.com Guest

Cool

In my volunter dept we had a fire truck take off while in pump, it jumped the wheel chalks, went down a hill and hit 2 cars and 1 house. After that happened I always put down chalks even if its on flat ground.

Have a good day and be safe.

Joe
    Local 3905

Twostix
    Firehouse.com Guest

Our s.o.p. is chock ahead and behind the driver's side drive wheel anytime the apparatus is parked except when actually inside the station. This includes when parked on the ramp. Doing it every time the same way establishes the placing and removing of chocks as a routine for every engineer. It is important to have chocks that are correctly sized to the tires on your particular apparatus.
    Be Safe, Get Home -twostix-

Lieutenant Gonzo
    Firehouse.com Guest

Cool

Play it safe and chock the wheels. I'd rather take ten seconds to chock the wheels than spend an hour or two filling out accident and property damage reports!

------------------
    Take care and be safe...Lt. Gonzo

stvfd88
    Firehouse.com Guest