Thread: Schooling

Proulx
    Firehouse.com Guest

Thumbs up Schooling

Hello all. This is my first time posting here so bear with me. I am a volunteer emt at two different locations. One at Virginia Tech where I am going to school, and also one back home in NH. In NH, I am also a volunteer FF. I joined the FD and amb in june of this year. I have been on the rescue squad at tech for a little more than a year now. I was just wondering from all the paid guys if they went to school for a degree of any type. I am currently in my second year here at tech and going through some down times. I was majoring in engineering but am struggling to keep my head above water. I know that I want to be a career ff/emt, hopefully a medic at that. I was just wondering if there is a really good major that I could get into cause there is no way that I can stay in engineering anymore. I just do not enjoy it half as much as I do running fire calls and responding to ems calls. I was looking at a few schools at there fire science programs, but most of those were just aa degrees and I was kinda looking for a bs degree. My new option that I am looking at is pursuing a managment degree here at Virginia Tech. Anyway, any responses and advice would really be appreciated. Thanks alot

benson911
    Firehouse.com Guest

Smile