Thread: Union or Not?

Fire Mechanic
    Firehouse.com Guest

Question Union or Not?

Hi all,
    I am a paid firefighter/mechanic on a volunteer department, and our two paramedics are paid as well. After coming to a brick wall with our commisioners regarding wages, our paramedics joined the IAFF. Within a half hour of notification, our chief had the locks changed to the admin offices! I know nothing about unions, and would like to hear the pros and cons from you folks whether I should stick it out alone, or consider joining the union. Oh budget time is so fun... Thanks in advance.

Truckie from Missouri
    Firehouse.com Guest

Thumbs up

To join the Union, or not to join the Union, that is the question....

My response is not only yes, HELL YES!

The IAFF will help you negotiate wages, working conditions, disciplinary proceedures, benefits, contracts, etc. Joining the Union with everyone else there will show unity amongst the troops, and that is a very important thing. A unified front will show management that you ARE serious about wanting to deal, to make an impact on working conditions. Joining the Union will also show the others that you are NOT a back stabbing scab, that you're in it TOGETHER.

Visit the IAFF website at http://www.iaff.org for more information.

------------------
    Proud Member of IAFF Local 3133!

Stay safe.

Kenny

***DISCLAIMER***
    All postings I have &/or will post are strictly my opinions. I am representing only myself here, not the IAFF, Local 3133, or my employer. No animals were/will be harmed from the production of this disclaimer. Thank you.
    ***END OF DISCLAIMER***

Lieutenant Gonzo
    Firehouse.com Guest

Cool

Definitely join the IAFF to protect yourself, your rights, your family, everything! I wonder what your Chief is trying to hide...

------------------
    Take care and be safe...Lt. Gonzo

PTFD21
    Firehouse.com Guest

Cool