Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    D. Anderson
    Firehouse.com Guest

Post When you started your career

I'm just wondering how old you guys were when you started, if you had a real job before becoming a firefighter, and if you were a veteran. It seems we're hiring younger people all the time and sometimes the work ethic isn't there, and they don't realize what a fantastic job they have.

Lieutenant Gonzo
    Firehouse.com Guest

Cool

I was 28 when I got appointed to the Department in 1981, was promoted to Lieutenant in 1988 and am waiting for the results of the November 1999 Captain's exam.

I worked as a technician and did some sales for a pest control company prior to getting appointed. Before that I worked in sales at a radio station, went to college, played bass guitar in a rock band, and worked in a couple of factories between semesters at school.

Firefighting is a great career. If someone doesn't want to do the job, they should get out; there are many who are waiting to get on!

------------------
    Take care and be safe...Lt. Gonzo

[This message has been edited by Lieutenant Gonzo (edited January 29, 2000).]

Terry McDonald
    Firehouse.com Guest

I was 18 when i started on a city reserve program, and was on full time when i was 19 years old in 1989. I was with that dept. for almost six years when i moved to my current dept. and i have been here since March 1995. I am currently assigned as a driver/paramedic on an engine company. Also, I am a third generaton FF. Father retired as Chief of Dept. almost two years ago in Oxford MS after thirty years of service and grandfather retired as a captain in 1972 with twenty years of service at Canton MS fire dept.

Truck 2
    Firehouse.com Guest

Wink