Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Karl Neubecker
    Firehouse.com Guest

Post Tell me about Career Firefighting

I am a college student who is seriously considering a career in firefighting. I have been involved in EMS for six years and have worked closely with firefighters so I know the basics, but I would like to know what career ff's out there think about their jobs. Do you enjoy them? What's good/bad about them? What are the better systems to work under? Can it be tough to "make ends meet" with a firefighter's salary? Anything you can tell me about it would be helpful.
    Thanks,
    Karl

9m18
    Firehouse.com Guest

I'm a full-time firefighter/EMT-I in a small combination department. I have to say I still very much enjoy my job. It's the most fun I think I could have and still get paid...in fact on Fridays I still laugh when I get my check...not necessarily over the (small) amount, but the fact that I actually get paid to do this! Best parts...helping people who may be having the worst day (or the last) of their lives, comraderie, and getting the job done. Also the schedule (24 hour shifts--48 hour week).Worst parts...the politics (why do we need so many fire engines? why do they make so much noise? You guys get paid to sleep! Town government which has no idea what we do every day and no interest in finding out. Trying to get the job done with a chronic shortage of personnel) It's like the commercial said--- it's the toughest job you'll ever love!
    Good luck.

------------------

[This message has been edited by 9m18 (edited February 14, 2000).]

Karl Neubecker
    Firehouse.com Guest

9m18-