Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    mmoor
    Firehouse.com Guest

Post Work schedule study

I am studying a 3 shift work schedules. I have looked at what has been posted so far. We now use a 24 on 48 off and deduct for sleep time, use a 28 day cycle for ovetime.
    Please e-mail your schedules if they are different than mine. I would also like to know how you handle sleep time, how sleep time is paiid and the average hours worked in a week with your schedule. Thank you for your help.

Lieutenant Gonzo
    Firehouse.com Guest

Cool

My Department works a 42 hour schedule. We work 2 ten hour days (08:00 to 18:00 hours) and two night tours (18:00 to 08:00 hours) then have four days off. This schedule averages 42 hours a week on an eight week cycle. There are 4 groups, the stations are covered 24/7.

Overtime happens when you are either called in or requested to work a tour other than your own shift. This includes callbacks for fires and for coverage.

We also have a minimum call back time of 4 hours at overtime rate (time and a half).

Fire Department details are a 4 hour minimum, $30 an hour. If the detail requires an officer and a crew, the OIC in charge of rthe detail gets paid $35 an hour.

Sleep time should be paid for any Department...if they require you to be in the firehouse, you should be paifd for it

------------------
    We boldly go where no one else dares...
    take care and stay safe
    Lt. Gonzo

Aerial 131
    Firehouse.com Guest

We work a Detroit 56 10 week cycle. 3 days every other day for total of 6 days then 4 off, 10-11 days per month. Sleep is paid at (I believe I am right) same rate as being awake.

Also, on the web is a site under some ems web site that lets you figure out a work schedule in advance. I guess it works pretty good.

------------------

Hammerhead338
    Firehouse.com Guest

Cool

We work a 24 on and 48 off.