Thread: Second Job?

ednic
    Firehouse.com Guest

I work a painter for a gentleman. He is very understanding of my schedule. I believe that all the firefighters on our department work second jobs.

------------------

Profireman
    Firehouse.com Guest

WOW glad to hear someone works a 10/14 besides me lol
    Nearly all of us work another job.
    I install fire alarms..How convenient eh ? haha

scott

Lt.Todd
    Firehouse.com Guest

I also work as a sub teacher,very flexible on the days I work.
    However,I have to say that part-time work is destroying the fire service.I see alot of guys who treat the fire service as their part-time job and thier part-time job as thier careers.Guys come to the station tired and more concerned about the next paint job, then training for a possible rescue.I'am not saying we shouldent work part-time, we just need to keep in mind what our true job is.Maybe one day we will be paid what were all worth! SERVE WITH PRIDE

Jeff Daigle
    Firehouse.com Guest

I work part-time as a fire instructor for Lamar Univ. (Industrial Side)
    All of our part-timers work for local Depts.
    It's all the fire I want to play with, a free lunch(sometimes even a free breakfest), and I even get paid for it. Can't beat it, unless I was a bartender part-time.(If I did that part-time I know I would get in trouble)

fdbxny
    Firehouse.com Guest

Unhappy

Too bad we are not paid enough to only work ONE job. Whats your union done for you lately?

pete fister
    Firehouse.com Guest

Smile

I work 2 side jobs on days off.

1) Lowes Home Improvement Warehouse...very flexible with my hours. I pretty much tell them when I can work and they understand that Fire Dept comes first with OT, Fire and Dive call outs, etc.

2)Berrien Removal Service - Body removal company...ya I know.

FitzBFDT2
    Firehouse.com Guest

Thumbs up