Thread: Second Job?

Chief Taylor
    Firehouse.com Guest

My other jobs are: Working on medical staff at a sports/events arena. I was a Volunteer Fire Chief for four years but needed more family $$. I also work the summers as a wildland firefighter.

iaff1937
    Firehouse.com Guest

Thumbs up

My second job is with the same city that I'm a firefighter with. I sub-contract to read water meters for the city's water department. It requires ALOT of walking and keeps me in great shape. The best thing of all is that I'm my own boss and I only put in about 40hrs. per month. I get paid by the meter not by the hours. The only draw back is the cold Mid-west winters.

FireLt1951
    Firehouse.com Guest

Spent my leave days as a teacher in one of the local high schools. They were very accepting and worked around my schedule. Taught government, history, sociology and science for the students taking college prep classes.

[This message has been edited by FireLt1951 (edited 05-09-2001).]

Fuller
    Firehouse.com Guest

Cool

About 95% of my department has a second job. I work 25-30 hours a week as a fire extinguisher service technician. Everybody be safe.

Lone Hunter
    Firehouse.com Guest

Man,I can't believe so many of you work for someone "on the books".Most of my dept. works side jobs,almost all off the books.

Mostly self-employed construction trades.Btw window washing is very big,if you can't pull in $150-$200 for a 8 hour window job your doing something wrong.

gifd2144
    Firehouse.com Guest

I dispatch for my vollie dept for p/t work.
    I see alot more action at home than work but then again with only 50 people on the island I work on and 35,000 at home makes sense.

Squadman911
    Firehouse.com Guest