Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    RLee509
    Firehouse.com Guest

Question Projecting Special Events

I am a professional firefighter/paramedic and union member. I am seeking info on projecting for special events in our city. At the present time these events are being covered by private ambulance companies. I am seeking info on startup and general operations of such a program. Any info is greatly appreciated. Thank You and stay safe.

benson911
    Firehouse.com Guest

Are you referring to staffing a FD ambulance off-duty with union members "volunteering" their time? And are you referring to "protection" or "projection?"

We started providing a "free" ambulance for High School sports events and some community events, because the city wouldn't pay us to do it. We felt the FF's presence was important and good PR for the union. We made sure every FF there wore an IAFF shirt or a FD shirt with OFF-DUTY on the back, so the community knew it was the union making this effort and not the city. We also diplayed a large IAFF sign and talked up the union to everyone we saw.

Eventually, the city started to pay us for public education work and we're hoping that will extend to other community events.

RLee509
    Firehouse.com Guest