Closed Thread
Page 2 of 6 First 12345 ... Last

Chief Montgomery,

I believe that this topic should be about training and everyone that has a problem with taking orders from either career or volly officers, needs more! Thats right I said you need more training in taking orders. If this is a problem then your respective training officers needs to set up several inter-department training sessions. Having the officers interacting with each other. The troops will learn to work together easier if they see leadership working together.

Forum Member

Where I work as a volunteer, we don't have many career people around us...and don't really want 'em... Just kidding - I can feel the IAFF breathing down my neck!

Actually, in the few cases where I've worked incidents with the few paid guys that work in some nearby communities, they took orders from the volunteer IC just like everyone else. It's simply a non-issue where I am. You either have the training, or your don't. Just because the township gives you a $300 check each week doesn't necessarily mean you have what it takes to be an IC. And just because you do it for "the love of it", and you'd never take money to do this thing you love so much, doesn't necessarily mean you have what it takes to be an IC.

It comes down to experience. That trumps everything, all the time. Generally, the people who hold positions of authority, in either paid or volunteer organizations, are there because they have the experience. I'd take orders from either - doesn't matter to me. And it shouldn't matter to anyone if the experience is there.

It's just that ego thing - and everyone knows we have buckets of it to spare.

Be safe!
    "Let's roll." - Todd Beamer, one of a group of American soldiers who handed the terrorists their first defeat.

Joe Black