Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Leather Helmets

Default Leather Helmets

Just a point of interest I saw someone in another post listing a leather helmet as an advantage. i have no experience with them, they were gone before I got in the job.So I was wondering, what is the advantage to them?

Other than better impact protection, another few big points to notice are;

1. How many times have you seen a 1010 or 1000 where the heat cap underneath has started to bubble from excessive heat. This tends to be much more rare in a leather helmet (the cairns ones we use that is)

2. Take a look very closely at the edge where the dome meets the brim on the back of a 1010/1000 and you'll probably notice stress cracks from storage, again, not too common in the n6a.

People complain that they are "much much heavier" but to be honest, they seem to be balanced better, so the weight difference has gone un-noticed by the guys on my dept.

just my opinions..

They guys like them better, they improve morale, they're better cared for, they're worn more, they last longer, they take on "personality" and make identification easier.

Taking on personality is a very good point, everyone has their own way of bending them and each one has its own amount of fire damage.. huh.. good point local..

Any decenting points of view?/// Really, I'm just wondering, if they are so good why dont all Dept's have them?

The reason most department's don't issue leather helmets is the cost.