Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Post In need of helpful advise please.

I would really appreciate some good advise from people who know.

I was a volunteer FF in a combination department about 6 years ago and really enjoyed doing it so I decided I wanted to be a career FF. I tested whenever I could in the area (4 states) while finishing college. I graduated from college and got a very good job in my field (good moneywise) but continued to test with fire departments. So now, after some more testing I am getting very very close get getting an offer with a fire department, however, it pays much less money and would require a move. I never want to let money rule my life but it still is a small consideration.

Questions: 1) How did you end up becoming a firefighter and would you do it again? What, if anything, would make you leave.

I would greatly appreciate even the smallest piece of advise from anyone.

Thanks so much ahead of time.

[ 01-07-2002: Message edited by: NSC ]

Money isn't everything, but I think you know that. If becoming a career firefighter is your dream then go for it. If you don't do it you'll probably be wondering about it or regret not doing it for the rest of your life. Getting paid to ride a fire truck, life is good. After all you did it for free when you vollied. Atleast let them offer you the job, this will give you more time to think about your decision. This job is bigger than money. Good luck to you.